April Poetry Month (Day 12): Tom Montag #npm16 #wppoets

[April Poetry Month 2016 Table of Contents]

Tom Montag head shot.jpg

Tom Montag is most recently the author of In This Place: Selected Poems 1982-2013. He is a contributing writer atVerse-Virtual. In 2015 he was the featured poet at Atticus Review (April) and Contemporary American Voices (August) and at year’s end received Pushcart Prize nominations from Provo Canyon Review and Blue Heron Review. Other poems will be found at Hamilton Stone Review, The Homestead Review, Little Patuxent Review, Mud Season Review, Poetry Quarterly, Third Wednesday, and elsewhere.


 

My Father,

holding the Y
of willow

lightly
in his hands,

walks the land.
The willow

leaps
for something

we do not
see: Here,

my father says
to the man,

drill here.

 

Poetry and Music

Not our fictions.
Not the true stories.

It is our poems
my God will read

and our music
he will believe.

 

The Moment of Death

I don’t know whether
I will be walking,
reading, or sleeping

at the moment of
death, or writing a
poem. I want to

lay down into it
as into comfort
and I want to say

I have been waiting
my whole life for this.

 

[April Poetry Month 2016 Table of Contents]

Woodland Pattern is nonprofit book center in the heart of Riverwest in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. We are dedicated to the discovery, cultivation and presentation of contemporary literature and the arts. 

